Skip to main content

New Mexico

Select a New State

Please select your state to view information and contacts for SOAR in your state. While there is SOAR activity in every state, there are not SOAR services available in every community.

State Information

New Mexico SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):

  • Teddi Rivera
    Email: teddi0602@gmail.com
    Phone: 505-235-6022

  • Axton Nichols
    Email: axton-n@nmceh.org
    Phone: 505-234-6586

  • Laura Carlson "Bug"
    Email: LauraC@headinghome.org
    Phone: 505-675-0040

TA Center Liaison:

  • Dan Coladonato
    Email: dcoladonato@prainc.com
    Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5241

SOARing in New Mexico

SSI/SSDI Outreach, Access, and Recovery (SOAR) is a model designed to increase access to Social Security disability benefits (SSI/SSDI) for individuals who are experiencing or at risk of homelessness.   

If you would like more information about SOAR, are interested in getting involved with SOAR in New Mexico, or if your agency or community is currently using the SOAR model to assist with SSI and/or SSDI applications and need additional technical assistance, please contact the New Mexico SOAR State Team Lead, Teddi Rivera, at teddi0602@gmail.com.

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

New Mexico utilizes the SOAR Online Course to train service providers to utilize the SOAR model to assist with SSI/SSDI applications for adults and SSI applications for children. The SOAR Online Course, which is administered by the SAMHSA SOAR TA Center, is provided at no cost, is self-paced, and can be started at any time. Before beginning the SOAR Online Course, it is recommended that service providers and their supervisors review the “Getting Involved with SOAR” document. 

SOAR Outcomes

SOAR-trained service providers in New Mexico utilize the SOAR Online Application Tracking (OAT) system to track SOAR outcomes statewide. If you are already SOAR-trained in New Mexico, please register for an OAT account and track your SOAR-assisted SSI and/or SSDI outcomes in this system.  

Local Leads:

  • Ashley Aragon
    Albuquerque, NM
    Email: ashleya@headinghome.org
    Phone: 505-895-3718

  • Laura Carlson "Bug"
    Albuquerque, NM
    Email: LauraC@headinghome.org
    Phone: 505-675-0040

  • Veronica Delgado
    Las Cruces, NM
    Email: vdelgado@lltraininginstitute.org
    Phone: 575-339-4382

  • Wesley Etheridge
    Las Cruces, NM
    Email: wesley.etheridge@amadorhealthcenter.org
    Phone: 757-401-7302

  • Joell Jones
    Farmington, NM
    Email: jjones3@magellanhealth.com
    Phone: 505-366-1058

  • Axton Nichols
    Albuquerque, NM
    Email: axton-n@nmceh.org
    Phone: 505-234-6586

  • Abe Robertson Gordon
    Albuquerque, NM
    Email: gordona@magellanhealth.com
    Phone: 505-249-6371

  • Trina Wheeler
    Albuquerque, NM
    Email: wheelert@magellanhealth.com
    Phone: 505-252-8345

Trainers:

  • Teddi Rivera
    Albuquerque, NM
    Email: teddi0602@gmail.com
    Phone: 505-235-6022

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

No Job postings currently exist for this state.

State Documents

Filename Description

Success Stories

No Success Stories currently exist for this state.