Skip to main content

Virginia

Select a New State

SOAR is available in all 50 states and D.C. Please select your state to view information or find SOAR assistance for your state.

State Information

Virginia SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):
Georgi Fisher
Email: georgi.fisher@dbhds.virginia.gov
Phone: 804-371-0802

TA Center Liaison: Abigail Kirkman
Email: akirkman@prainc.com
Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5226

SOARing in Virginia

The SOAR effort in Virginia is an initiative designed to increase access to SSI/SSDI for eligible adults who are experiencing or at risk of homelessness and have a mental illness, medical impairment, and/or a co-occurring substance use disorder. 

Individuals interested in training are encouraged to reach out to the State Lead or SOAR TA Center Liaison using the contact information above for more information about SOAR.
 
To find out more, visit the Virginia SOAR website.

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

In addition to completing the SOAR Online Course, individuals seeking to complete SOAR applications in Virginia must meet the following criteria:

  1. Agencies seeking SOAR training must provide services to homeless adults and be actively engaged with their local Continuum of Care or Balance of State coordinating bodies.
  2. Agencies must be actively involved in the local SOAR Project planning process for their communities and maintain an active role as the project continues (i.e., attend quarterly SOAR meetings)
  3. Individuals that complete the SOAR Online Course must also attend a one-day SOAR training prior to submitting SOAR applications. This training will be offered in the participants’ communities. However, in some instances, participants may need to travel outside their community to complete the training.
  4. Individuals must be willing to submit SOAR data to the SOAR State Coordinator on at least an annual basis.
  5. Individuals must adhere to the expectations of the state SOAR project as outlined by the local community plan in collaboration with our partners at the Social Security Administration and Disability Determination Services.
For clarification regarding any of these criteria please contact the SOAR State Team Lead. 

Local Leads

Lauren Dracoules
Co-Lead: Cities of Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania, Stafford, King George, and Caroline , VA
Email: lauren@dolovewalk.net
Phone: 540-760-2655 

Georgi Fisher
Richmond; Giles, Montgomery, Pulaski, and Floyd Counties, City of Radford; Eastern Shore – Nassawadox, Parksley, Exmore, Belle Haven, Onancock, and Accomack; Roanoke and surrounding counties, VA
Email: georgi.fisher@dbhds.virginia.gov
Phone: 804-371-0802 

Kathleen  Guilliams
City of Roanoke, Roanoke County, Bedford, Christiansburg, City of Radford, Blacksburg, Pulaski and Floyd Counties and surrounding areas, VA
Email: kguilliams@brbh.org
Phone: 540-556-0795 

Megan Hanson
Co-Lead: City of Richmond and Colonial Heights, Counties of Chesterfield, Henrico, Hanover, Petersburg, Powhatan, Prince George, VA
Email: mhanson@virginiasupportivehousing.org
Phone: 804-514-5359 

Jane Harless
Norfolk, VA
Email: janeh@laseva.org
Phone: 757-627-5423 x156

Allison Henry
Staunton, VA
Email: ahenry@vcsb.org
Phone: 540-480-0712 

Kathleen Heredia
Co-Lead: City of Charlottesville, County of Albermarle, VA
Email: kheredia@piedmontcsb.org
Phone: 540-330-9069 

Shantise Hood
Oakton, VA
Email: shood@nvfs.org
Phone: 571-373-7994 

Sara Kidd
Bland, Carroll, Grayson, Smyth, Wythe and the City of Galax, VA
Email: sara.kidd@mrcsb.state.va.us
Phone: 276-613-1815 

Cory Lagdon
Winchester, VA
Email: clagdon@nwcsb.com
Phone: 540-667-8888 x1261

Nella Leppo
Co-Lead: Cities of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon, Prince William, Alexandria, Falls Church, Fairfax, Oakton, and Manassas, VA
Email: nella.leppo@fairfaxcounty.gov
Phone: 703-901-5349 

Liz Nyberg
Co-Lead: City of Charlottesville, County of Albermarle, VA
Email: liz@pacemshelter.org
Phone: 434-465-1391 

Samantha Shoukas
Co-Lead: Cities of Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania, Stafford, King George, and Caroline , VA
Email: shoukas@gwregion.org
Phone: 540-642-1578 

Brooke Singh
Lynchburg, VA
Email: brooke.middleton@horizonbh.org
Phone: 434-455-3469 

Paula Stockman
Co-Lead: Cities of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon, Prince William, Alexandria, Falls Church, Fairfax, Oakton and Manassas,, VA
Email: PStockman@FacetsCares.org
Phone: 703-664-6181 

Jessica Wenger
Co-Lead: Cities of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudon, Prince William, Alexandria, Falls Church, Fairfax, Oakton, and Manassas, VA
Email: jessica.wenger@alexandriava.gov
Phone: 703-409-6883 

Nora Woodward
Co-Leads: City of Richmond and Colonial Heights, Counties of Chesterfield, Henrico, Hanover, Petersburg, Powhatan, Prince George, VA
Email: woodwardn@rbha.org
Phone: 804-819-4190 

Trainers

SOAR for Children Leads

Georgi Fisher
Richmond; Giles, Montgomery, Pulaski, and Floyd Counties, City of Radford; Eastern Shore – Nassawadox, Parksley, Exmore, Belle Haven, Onancock, and Accomack; Roanoke and surrounding counties, VA
Email: georgi.fisher@dbhds.virginia.gov
Phone: 804-371-0802 

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

State Documents

Filename Description