Skip to main content

Texas

Select a New State

SOAR is available in all 50 states and D.C. Please select your state to view information or find SOAR assistance for your state.

State Information

Texas SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):
Lyla Ordonez
Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
Phone: 713-302-3176

TA Center Liaison: Sametra Polkah-Toe
Email: spolkahtoe@prainc.com
Phone: (518) 439-7415

SOARing in Texas

SOAR (SSI/SSDI, Outreach, Access, and Recovery) is a national project designed to increase access to SSI/SSDI benefits for eligible children, youth, and adults who are experiencing or at risk of homelessness and have a serious mental illness and/or co-occurring substance use disorder. 

Please contact the State Team Lead for more information. 

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

Agency and community expectations will vary depending on local resources. However, any SOAR community is expected to implement a SOAR Lead at the minimum standard and community supports such as a steering committee as a highest standard.

Outcomes Tracking

Texas utilizes the SOAR Online Application Tracking (OAT) system to track the outcomes of SOAR-assisted SSI/SSDI applications. OAT can be accessed at https://soartrack.samhsa.gov/

Local Leads

Texas SOAR

State Team Lead(s):
Lyla Ordonez
Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
Phone: 713-302-3176

TA Center Liaison: Sametra Polkah-Toe
Email: spolkahtoe@prainc.com
Phone: (518) 439-7415

Upcoming SOAR Trainings

There are no trainings scheduled in your state at this time.
Please contact the state team lead for more information.

Can't find a local training? Check out the SOAR Online Course. It is free and available anytime and anywhere!

Local Leads

Lluva Akwe
Houston, TX
Email: lluva.akwe@bcm.edu
Phone: 346-520-5051 

Sheila Beach-Cramblet
Fort Worth, TX
Email: sheila.beach-cramblet@mhmrtc.org
Phone: 682-263-6809 

Rand Chaqmaqchee
Houston, TX
Email: rchaqmaqchee@homelesshouston.org
Phone: 713-739-7514 

Sheila Clary
Dallas, TX
Email: sclary@ntbha.org
Phone: 469-607-7417 

La Shandraia Dwyer
Austin, TX
Email: lashandraiadwyer@austinecho.org
Phone: 512-762-0813 

Karisa  Garner
Waco, TX
Email: karisa.garner@hotrmhmr.org
Phone: 254-405-5281 

Jerry Guillen
San Antonio, TX
Email: jerryguillen@sarahomeless.org
Phone: 210-865-3516 

Ashley  Lemell
El Paso, TX
Email: alemell.epch@elp.twcbc.com
Phone: 915-843-2170 

John Meier
Abilene, TX
Email: jmeier@westcentraltexas.org
Phone: 325-864-4791 

Patricia Palomo
San Antonio, TX
Email: Patriciapalomo@sarahomeless.org
Phone: 210-876-0720 x103

Stefanie  Quintela
Houston, TX
Email: squintela@homelesshouston.org
Phone: 214-632-9747 

Miranda Ramos
Spring, TX
Email: maramos117@gmail.com
Phone: 281-352-6785 

Nathan Smith
Austin, TX
Email: nsmith@familyeldercare.org
Phone: 512-745-6961 

SOAR for Children Leads

Lyla Ordonez
Houston, TX
Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
Phone: 713-302-3176 

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

No Job postings currently exist for this state.

State Documents

Filename Description