Skip to main content

Texas

Select a New State

SOAR is available in all 50 states. Please select your state to view information or find SOAR assistance for your state.

State Pages

SOARing in Texas

SOAR (SSI/SSDI, Outreach, Access, and Recovery) is a national project designed to increase access to SSI/SSDI benefits for eligible children, youth, and adults who are experiencing or at risk of homelessness and have a serious mental illness and/or co-occurring substance use disorder. 

Please contact the State Team Lead for more information. 

Texas SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):
Lyla Ordonez
Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
Phone: 713-302-3176

TA Center Liaison: Sametra Polkah-Toe
Email: spolkahtoe@prainc.com
Phone: (518) 439-7415

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

Agency and community expectations will vary depending on local resources. However, any SOAR community is expected to implement a SOAR Lead at the minimum standard and community supports such as a steering committee as a highest standard.

Outcomes Tracking

Texas utilizes the SOAR Online Application Tracking (OAT) system to track the outcomes of SOAR-assisted SSI/SSDI applications. OAT can be accessed at https://soartrack.samhsa.gov/

Local Leads

Lluva Akwe
Houston, TX
Email: lluva.akwe@bcm.edu
Phone: 346-520-5051 

Sheila Beach-Cramblet
Fort Worth, TX
Email: sheila.beach-cramblet@mhmrtc.org
Phone: 682-263-6809 

Rand Chaqmaqchee
Houston, TX
Email: rchaqmaqchee@homelesshouston.org
Phone: 713-739-7514 

Sheila Clary
Dallas, TX
Email: sclary@ntbha.org
Phone: 469-607-7417 

La Shandraia Dwyer
Austin, TX
Email: lashandraiadwyer@austinecho.org
Phone: 512-762-0813 

Karisa  Garner
Waco, TX
Email: karisa.garner@hotrmhmr.org
Phone: 254-405-5281 

Jerry Guillen
San Antonio, TX
Email: jerryguillen@sarahomeless.org
Phone: 210-865-3516 

Ashley  Lemell
El Paso, TX
Email: alemell.epch@elp.twcbc.com
Phone: 915-843-2170 

John Meier
Abilene, TX
Email: jmeier@westcentraltexas.org
Phone: 325-864-4791 

Patricia Palomo
San Antonio, TX
Email: Patriciapalomo@sarahomeless.org
Phone: 210-876-0720 x103

Stefanie  Quintela
Houston, TX
Email: squintela@homelesshouston.org
Phone: 214-632-9747 

Miranda Ramos
Spring, TX
Email: maramos117@gmail.com
Phone: 281-352-6785 

Nathan Smith
Austin, TX
Email: nsmith@familyeldercare.org
Phone: 512-745-6961 

Trainers

SOAR for Children Leads

Lyla Ordonez
Houston, TX
Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
Phone: 713-302-3176 

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

Job Title Location Description
SOAR Specialist

Integral Care
TX

Visit Organization Site

IntegralCare is seeking a full-time SOAR Specialist to complete SOAR applications and provide specialized training, advocacy and assistance to consumers who may be eligible and wish to apply for SSI/SSDI benefits. Services are provided to identified individuals who have experienced or at risk of homelessness accompanied by significant behavioral health, medical, and/or substance abuse issues utilizing a recovery-based and trauma-informed perspective.

State Documents

Filename Description