Skip to main content

Texas

Select a New State

Please select your state to view information and contacts for SOAR in your state. While there is SOAR activity in every state, there are not SOAR services available in every community.

State Information

Texas SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):

  • Lyla Ordonez
    Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
    Phone: 713-302-3176

TA Center Liaison:

  • Sametra Polkah-Toe
    Email: spolkahtoe@prainc.com
    Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5107

SOARing in Texas

SOAR (SSI/SSDI, Outreach, Access, and Recovery) is a national project designed to increase access to SSI/SSDI benefits for eligible children, youth, and adults who are experiencing or at risk of homelessness and have a serious mental illness and/or co-occurring substance use disorder. 

Please contact the State Team Lead for more information. 

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

Agency and community expectations will vary depending on local resources. However, any SOAR community is expected to implement a SOAR Lead at the minimum standard and community supports such as a steering committee as a highest standard.

Outcomes Tracking

Texas utilizes the SOAR Online Application Tracking (OAT) system to track the outcomes of SOAR-assisted SSI/SSDI applications. OAT can be accessed at https://soartrack.samhsa.gov/

Local Leads:

  • Sheila Beach-Cramblet
    Fort Worth, TX
    Email: sheila.beach-cramblet@mhmrtc.org
    Phone: 682-263-6809

  • Rand Chaqmaqchee
    Houston, TX
    Email: rchaqmaqchee@homelesshouston.org
    Phone: 713-739-7514

  • Sheila Clary
    Dallas, TX
    Email: sclary@ntbha.org
    Phone: 469-607-7417

  • Tamara Duren
    Bryan, TX
    Email: durent@twincitymission.org
    Phone: 979-412-6930

  • La Shandraia Dwyer
    Austin, TX
    Email: lashandraiadwyer@austinecho.org
    Phone: 972-584-7095

  • Karisa Garner
    Waco, TX
    Email: karisa.garner@hotrmhmr.org
    Phone: 254-405-5281

  • Christy Hilbert
    , TX
    Email: christy.hilbert@pcsvcs.org
    Phone: 806-342-6142

  • Omar Martinez
    Houston, TX
    Email: omartinez@homelesshouston.org
    Phone: 832-531-6062

  • Justin Quick
    Fort Worth, TX
    Email: justin@ahomewithhope.org
    Phone: 214-702-8089

  • Stefanie Quintela
    Houston, TX
    Email: squintela@homelesshouston.org
    Phone: 214-632-9747

  • Miranda Ramos
    Spring, TX
    Email: maramos117@gmail.com
    Phone: 281-352-6785

  • Audra Rea
    , TX
    Email: audra.rea@pcsvcs.org
    Phone: 806-342-6117

  • Hope Rodgers
    Balance of State CoC, TX
    Email: hope@thn.org
    Phone: 512-861-2119

  • Alejandro Vasquez
    EL PASO, TX
    Email: avasquez.epch@elp.twcbc.com
    Phone: 915-843-2170

  • Robert Ward
    Burleson, TX
    Email: robert.ward@hhs.texas.gov
    Phone:

SOAR for Children Leads:

  • Lyla Ordonez
    Houston, TX
    Email: lordonez@avenue360.org
    Phone: 713-302-3176

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

No Job postings currently exist for this state.

State Documents

Filename Description

Success Stories

No Success Stories currently exist for this state.