Skip to main content

New Jersey

Select a New State

Please select your state to view information and contacts for SOAR in your state. While there is SOAR activity in every state, there are not SOAR services available in every community.

State Information

New Jersey SOAR State Team

TA Center Liaison:

  • Pam Heine
    Email: pheine@prainc.com
    Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5228

SOARing in New Jersey

County-Based SOAR Initiatives

Atlantic County/Jewish Family Services (JFS)

  • JFS has one SOAR dedicated staff member.
  • In Atlantic County, annual SOAR training is held and open to various social service providers including Atlantic County Board of Social Services, various partial care programs, Mental Health Association and JFS.
  • All Project for Assistance in Transition from Homelessness (PATH) and traditional Supportive Housing staff at JFS of Atlantic County are required to attend training.
  • Ann Thoresen Program Director, Atlantic Homeless Alliance is a SOAR trainer for the state of NJ. 

Mercer County SOAR Program

  • A community collaborative of agencies with a focus on developing capacity to make the SOAR process available to all individuals who are homeless and potentially eligible for SSI/SSDI. The project sees SSI income as a building block to permanent housing.
  • There is a Steering Committee with membership of the Director of the Mercer County Office of the Social Security Administration, the Mercer Alliance to End Homelessness, Greater Trenton Behavioral Health, and Family Guidance, the agencies who employ Case-managers doing applications, the Mercer County Department of Human Services and Mercer County Board of Social Services. Their role is to oversee the project and trouble shoot problems that occur with the inter-agency nature of the work. Steering Committee Chair: Ann Dorocki, Mercer County Department of Human Services, 609-989-6826
  • There are 2 full time Case-managers who work on SOAR applications:
    • Greater Trenton Behavioral HealthCare, Ewing, NJ; Contact: Andrea Raza 609-583-1900
    • Family Guidance Center, Princeton, NJ; Contact: Diane Hirko, 609-924-2098 *11

Middlesex County

  • Coordinated regional SOAR initiative with SOAR dedicated staff

Essex County

  • SOAR dedicated staff member at Project Live

Local Leads:

  • Sindy Badillo
    North Brunswick, NJ
    Email: sbadillo@triplechousing.org
    Phone: 732-647-8336

  • Michaeline Buchanan
    Clifton, NJ
    Email: mbuchanan@voa-gny.org
    Phone: 732-904-8851

  • Henry Busby
    New Brunsvick, NJ
    Email: henry.busby@co.middlesex.nj.us
    Phone: 732-745-5918

  • LaShaunda Carter
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Email: lashaundacarter@ymail.com
    Phone: 856-676-9803

  • Liseberde Colon-Blacknall
    Newark, NJ
    Email: Blacknalll@courtinnovation.org
    Phone: 646-812-0068

  • Ann Dorocki
    Trenton, NJ
    Email: adorocki@mercercounty.org
    Phone: 609-989-6826

  • Tanisha Ginlock
    Newark, NJ
    Email: tginlock@projectlive.org
    Phone: 973-481-1211

  • Diane Hirko
    Trenton, NJ
    Email: dhirko@cctrenton.org
    Phone: 609-394-8847 xx3532

  • Colleen Smith
    Newark, NJ
    Email: smithc@courtinnovation.org
    Phone: 973-733-5180

  • Roberta-Joy Taylor
    Rio Grande, NJ
    Email: Roberta.Taylor@co.cape-may.nj.us
    Phone: 609-886-6200 xx2205

  • Debra Underwood
    Newark, NJ
    Email: dunderwood@projectlive.org
    Phone: 973-481-1211

State Events

Events List

State Jobs

No Job postings currently exist for this state.

State Documents

Filename Description

Success Stories

No Success Stories currently exist for this state.