Skip to main content

Indiana

Select a New State

SOAR is available in all 50 states and D.C. Please select your state to view information or find SOAR assistance for your state.

State Information

Indiana SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):

  • Melissa Carroll
    Email: melissa.carroll@fssa.in.gov
    Phone:

TA Center Liaison:

  • Sametra Polkah-Toe
    Email: spolkahtoe@prainc.com
    Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5107

SOARing in Indiana

Indiana has trained 3 Local Leaders who are located in the following areas: Indianapolis and Jeffersonville. Please see their contact information listed here. Several areas around Indiana have active SOAR programs, e.g.) Bloomington, Lafayette, Fort Wayne, Northwest Indiana and Evansville.

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

When completing SOAR cases, caseworkers are expected to:

  • Serve as the Appointed Representative throughout the application process.
  • Collect all medical records for treatment received in previous years.
  • Waive any fees associated with serving as Appointed Representative or for assistance with the application process or collection of medical records.
  • Write a comprehensive Medical Summary Report that highlights the applicant’s functional impairment through the document of his or her personal, medical, and work history.
  • Track applications and outcomes including approval/denials and time to decision from application submission to receipt of SSA’s decision.

Outcomes Tracking

Caseworkers are expected to register in Online Application Tracking (OAT), and upon receipt of a final decision all cases are to be recorded in the OAT system. Only data regarding cases where SOAR critical components were used are to be recorded.
 
 

Local Leads:

  • Teshezia George
    Gary, IN
    Email: tgeorge@gary.gov
    Phone:

  • Dustin Hughbanks
    Indianapolis, IN
    Email: DHughbanks@adultandchild.org
    Phone: 317-690-2291

  • Tyson Jones
    New Albany, IN
    Email: tjones@soinhomeless.org
    Phone: 270-570-0706

  • Etha Lasenby
    Gary, IN
    Email: elasenby@marramhealth.org
    Phone: 219-806-3016

  • Linda Robinson
    Indianapolis, IN
    Email: lrobinson@idoc.in.gov
    Phone: 317-233-1946

  • Melissa Ryan
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Email: melissa.ryan@lifespringhealthsystems.org
    Phone: 812-206-1478

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

No Job postings currently exist for this state.

State Documents

Filename Description