Skip to main content

California

Select a New State

SOAR is available in all 50 states and D.C. Please select your state to view information or find SOAR assistance for your state.

State Information

California SOAR State Team

State Team Lead(s):

TA Center Liaison: Dan Coladonato
Email: dcoladonato@prainc.com
Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5241

SOARing in California

SSI/SSDI Outreach, Access, and Recovery (SOAR) is a model designed to increase access to Social Security disability benefits for individuals who are experiencing or at risk of homelessness and have a disabling mental health condition, a physical disability, or a co-occurring disorder. 

If you would like more information about SOAR, if you are interested in getting involved with SOAR in California, or if your agency or community is currently using the SOAR model to assist with SSI and/or SSDI applications and need additional technical assistance, please contact Dan Coladonato, the SAMHSA SOAR TA Center Liaison to California, at dcoladonato@prainc.com. 

Expectations of Participation in SOAR

California utilizes the SOAR Online Course to train service providers to utilize the SOAR model to assist with SSI/SSDI applications for adults and SSI applications for children. The SOAR Online Course, which is administered by the SAMHSA SOAR TA Center, is provided at no cost, is self-paced, and can be started at any time. Before beginning the SOAR Online Course, it is recommended that service providers and their supervisors review the “Getting Involved with SOAR” document. 

Outcomes Tracking

SOAR-trained service providers in California utilize the SOAR Online Application Tracking (OAT) system to track SOAR outcomes statewide. If you are already SOAR-trained in California, please register for an OAT account and track your SOAR-assisted SSI and/or SSDI outcomes in this system.  

Local Leads

California SOAR

State Team Lead(s):

TA Center Liaison: Dan Coladonato
Email: dcoladonato@prainc.com
Phone: (518) 439-7415 x5241

Upcoming SOAR Trainings

There are no trainings scheduled in your state at this time.
Please contact the state team lead for more information.

Can't find a local training? Check out the SOAR Online Course. It is free and available anytime and anywhere!

Local Leads

Taide Arias
Riverside, CA
Email: tarias@ruhealth.org
Phone: 951-955-7265 

Karen Betances
Santa Ana, CA
Email: KBetances@ochca.com
Phone: 714-834-2184 

Sarah Brown
Redding, CA
Email: smbrown@co.shasta.ca.us
Phone: 530-356-9889 

Claudia Doyle
San Bernardino, CA
Email: Claudia.Doyle@hss.sbcounty.gov
Phone: 909-501-0617 

Deborah  Dunham
Coalinga, CA
Email: deborah.dunham@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 559-934-8594 

Joanne Evans
Roseville, CA
Email: JMEvans@placer.ca.gov
Phone: 916-787-8891 

Joscelyne Gonzalez
Santa Maria, CA
Email: jgonzalez@goodsamaritanshelter.org
Phone: 805-803-9633 

Alex Lambrous
Santa Barbara, CA
Email: alambrous@lafsbc.org
Phone: 805-364-4323 

Vicente Perez
Coalinga, CA
Email: Vicente.Perez@dsh.ca.gov
Phone: 559-934-8539 

Maria Rodriguez
Fresno, CA
Email: maria.rodriguez@westcare.com
Phone: 559-265-4800 

Melissa Sleeper
Roseville, CA
Email: msleeper@placer.ca.gov
Phone: 530-906-0863 

Robert Ward
Eureka, CA
Email: rward@co.humboldt.ca.us
Phone:  

State Events

Events List

No Events currently exist for this state.

State Jobs

No Job postings currently exist for this state.

State Documents

Filename Description